Astronomers Monument at Griffith Observatory


This monument, designed by local artist Archibald Garner, was built in 1934 by the Public Works of Art Project (PWAP) in an effort to employ workers during the Great Depression.  The six astronomers depicted include Hipparchus, Nicolas Copernicus, Galileo Galilei, Johannes Kepler, Issac Newton, and John Herschel.

Links:   Griffith Observatory       previous related post

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s